Posted by: Ginevra | December 11, 2009

From Florence by Train…

Yesterday, in preparation for my Italian tutoring session today, I grabbed an Italian Elle to try and read. I debated on grabbing another Italian magazine, like the mini-sized Glamour, but I decided not to challenge myself that much. So I bought the mini-sized British Glamour.

I occasionally like to read my magazines from back to front, and once I got through the pages upon pages of ads, I saw the Duomo! There was a little highlight on Florence under the title “And your holiday starts… NOW!” and subtitle “No airports, no crowds and no ‘check-in has closed’. GLAMOUR hits the road, rail or water to test the best no-fly mini breaks.” From my reading perspective, all the places I can go without needing to fly when I’m in Italy next semester.

Taking the train from London to Paris and then through the night for an AM arrival in Florence looks like a cinch! I’ve never been to London or Paris so learning about opportunities like this is exciting. Could leave it for a weekend excursion…

To take an early morning stroll along the Ponte Vecchio, “where culture and commerce collide,” is not only beautiful, but you may be blissfully alone to take in the sights. Early morning and evenings are best to avoid crowds of tourists. I’ll also take the mag’s suggestion to visit Hotel Lungarno, owned by the Ferragamos, and the restaurant Borgo San Jacopo at night, where I’ll be able to see the stars mirrored gorgeous in the Arno river.

And on the weekend, Paris here I come!


Leave a comment

Categories